Wednesday, the 9th of November, and time for Shelf Control once again! Shelf Control is a weekly feature hosted by Lisa at Bookshelf Fantasies, and celebrates the books waiting to be read on your TBR piles/mountains. To participate, all you do is pick a book from your TBR pile, and write a post about it–what its about, why you want to read it, when you got it, and such. If you participate, don’t forget to link back to Lisa’s page, and do also leave your links in the comments below as I’d love to check out your picks as well!

After a couple of weeks of not being able to do shelf control posts, this week I’m back with one and seeing that it is, among other things, #NonfictionNovember, I thought I’d pick a nonfiction title. So my pick this week is Country Notes (1939) by Vita Sackville-West, an author and book I’ve been meaning to read from long but haven’t gotten to yet.

A short volume, this comprises a number of essays, most just a couple of paragraphs, almost like diary entries focusing on the season, the changes in nature around her, the birds, flowers and such. Humans have a place too, like Sackville-West’s friend who is fond of knitting (followed by a small piece about the sheep–belonging to Sackville-West herself–which supply the wool). Broadly the pieces appear to flow by season, though only a few are actually titled according to the month or season. There are also a fair few photographs of the trees, flowers, animals and even insects described.

I enjoy reading books about nature (and books and nature like Elizabeth Von Arnim’s volumes) and gardens, especially those reflecting on the little changes that come about or different birds and animals one sees. I find them both delightful and calming.

Do you enjoy reading books about nature or the countryside? Which are some of your favourites?

Lisa’s pick this week is Jane in Love by Rachel Givney, a very interesting sounding title where Jane Austen is transported into the future!

Cover image as always from Goodreads; book description is from skimming through the contents and book.

19 thoughts on “Shelf Control #204: Country Notes by Vita Sackville-West

  1. Country Notes sounds good. I hope you enjoy it when you get to it. I’ve been reading a few celebrity memoirs for nonfiction books, but I would enjoy some nature and outdoorsy nonfiction books too.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I have this and her Edwardians which I’ve been meaning t get to but haven’t managed to so far. I hope I can soon. I’ll certainly look up Country Diary of an Edwardian Lady and Country Notes of an EL. Hadn’t come across those before-thanks for mentioning them!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh, how interesting, I’ve chosen another Vita Sackville-West title, Nursery Rhymes: an Essay for #NovNov nonfiction week. 🙂 I do occasionally pick up books about nature and the countryside, but living inside the borders of a National Park – the Brecon Beacons – I have views of mountains, fields and a river from our windows, which we can step out into within 5 minutes from our front door! We never forget how lucky we are.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. It sounds like such a delightful book! I don’t recall reading anything similar to it, but it sounds quite inspiring. I watch a lot of nature-watching YouTube videos, so it sounds right up my street. I hope you enjoy x

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This sounds like it could be really lovely! I’ve heard of the author, but really had no idea what she’s written. I look forward to hearing what you think of it! I treated myself to a copy of The Edwardian Lady’s Country Diary last year, which is probably the only nature book I’ve read. It’s more of a collection of thoughts and impressions and drawings than any sort of real narrative, but quite pretty to look through.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.