Wednesday, the 10th of April 2024, and time for Shelf Control once again! Shelf Control is a weekly feature created by Lisa at Bookshelf Fantasies and celebrates the books waiting to be read on your TBR piles/mountains. Since early January 2023, Shelf Control has moved base here to Literary Potpourri. To participate, all you do is pick a book from your TBR pile, and write a post about it–what it’s about, when/where you got it, why you want to read it and such. If you participate, don’t forget to share your links in the comments. I’ll check out your picks of course, and also add you to the list of participants in this post.

Today’s pick is from my parents’ shelves and an author I’ve seen there (at least 3 or 4 books) but haven’t tried so far. Clive Cussler was an American novelist and undersea explorer who essentially wrote thrillers with over 80 books published. He also founded the National Underwater and Marine Agency which is credited with the discovery of over 60 shipwrecks. He also served with the airforce during the Korean War (more on wikipedia).

The Mediterranean Caper (1973) is the second in a series of books featuring one of his recurring characters Dirk Pitt. As Goodreads describes this, a World War I plane attacks an American air base on an isolated Greek Island and a saboteur preys on a scientific exploration. Dirk Pitt must play a deadly game of hunter and hunted with the head of an international smuggling gang.

Why I picked this book initially was the ‘Mediterranean’ in the title as I do like that as I setting. And now reading both the blurb and Cussler’s background, I think one can reasonable expect some authentic (underwater?) exploration and adventure details which I would likely enjoy. On the other hand, these ‘action hero’ type scenarios don’t generally work for me, and a big big red flag came up when I causally glanced through the Goodreads page where many have pointed out the blatant sexism in the book. That is enough reason for me to not pick up this one so off the TBR it goes–I won’t write Cussler off entirely just yet but will look up descriptions and reviews carefully before deciding if I will try one.

Have you ever read anything by the author? Your thoughts?

If you’re joining in with Shelf Control this week, do leave your links in the comments so I can add you to the participants’ list.

10 thoughts on “Shelf Control #275: The Mediterranean Caper by Clive Cussler

  1. Not read any Cussler myself, mainly because action men doing active things isn’t my usual go-to genre, in fact I only dip my toes in this genre once in a blue moon. And, weirdly, being a dad you might think I’m the ideal recipient of books like this for high days and holidays!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The Fargo books are more up to date and not all about male superiority.

    The later Dirk Ptt books are better as he is no longer a youngster.

    Isaak Bell is more about detectives and i enjoy those stories.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.