Wednesday, the 17th of April 2024, and time for Shelf Control once again! Shelf Control is a weekly feature created by Lisa at Bookshelf Fantasies, and celebrates the books waiting to be read on your TBR piles/mountains. Since early January 2023, Shelf Control has moved base here to Literary Potpourri. To participate, all you do is pick a book from your TBR pile, and write a post about it–what it’s about, when/where you got it, why you want to read it and such. If you participate, don’t forget to share your links in the comments. I’ll check out your picks of course, and also add you to the list of participants in this post.

Since we’re in the midst of the #1937Club this week, I though for my shelf control post too, I’ll look up a book from the year that waiting on my shelf by which I haven’t been able to get to (this week, that is). One of these that’s been there the longest is probably Busman’s Honeymoon by Dorothy L. Sayers, the thirteenth in her Lord Peter Wimsey series.

In this one, Lord Peter Wimsey has finally married mystery-novelist Harriet Vane, leaving plenty of society women in mourning. For their honeymoon they are headed to the tranquil countryside, the trip to be spent in a farmhouse but once there, they find the place left in shambles by the previous owner. But it isn’t just a mess that’s been left behind, the man himself appears in the cellar-a body with its skull bashed in! The honeymoon is over pretty much before it starts as the two start to investigate why anyone would want to kill poor Mr Noakes. From the local constable to the housekeeper, everyone has something to hide. Wimsey and Harriet have their theories, but it isn’t until they find a vital clue that any real progress is made.

I’ve read a handful of the Peter Wimsey books so far, not in any particular order, but while I’ve got on with some like The Five Red Herrings (1931) and Murder Must Advertise (1933), others didn’t work as well, at least from the perspective of the mystery itself. Still this isn’t a series I’ve given up on just yet so Busman’s Honeymoon will eventually get read but not likely very soon.

Have you read Busman’s Honeymoon? Do you enjoy the Peter Wimsey mysteries? Which one/s are your favourites?

If you’re joining in with Shelf Control this week, do leave your link in the comments so I can add you to the participants’ list for the week.

20 thoughts on “Shelf Control #276: Busman’s Honeymoon by Dorothy L. Sayers

    1. The first couple I didn’t get on with very well–the ones I did were randomly picked up either for a group read or challenge and fared far better. I don’t think I’ll be reading all the books eventually but if a particular title appeals, I may give it a try.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I have read all the Peter Wimsey books, but don’t remember this one well. I enjoyed Murder Must Advertise too, and The Nine Tailors and Gaudy Night are also favorites.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have this one on the TBR too, but I didn’t particularly enjoy the other Wimsey books I’ve read so I’ve been hesitant to read it. Like you, I’ll probably return to the series but not right now.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ha ha ha, I can very much relate to that Brona 🙂 My first couple of reads were not great but some I picked up as group reads later (Murder Must Advertise and Five Red Herrings) fared much better!

      Like

  3. I finished reading Busman’s and on Friday night. I won’t bother reviewing it, I enjoyed it but with reservations. I think it’s far too long. DLS has a habit of putting long bits of dialogue between Peter and Harriet in French. My French I’d virtually non-existent. So I was glad to be reading on Kindle when I could easily get an instant translation.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The French would have been hard for me too-I barely remember any though I did have it as part of my undergrad courses. But glad you enjoyed the book even if it wasn’t a complete success.

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.